“Dear Abby” advice columnist Pauline Phillips known for her humor dies at 94

Pauline Phillips, known as “Dear Abby” newspaper column and radio show died on January 16 at 94 in Minneapolis. Phillips’ twin sister Esther “Eppie” Lederer, who wrote her own advice column using the name Ann Landers. The two experts on advice did not talk for years. Phillips was known for both her sage advice and her biting wit. In one column, a reader queried: My husband has always been very close to his mother and she has never cared much for me. I asked my husband if I was drowning and his mother was drowning, which one would he save? He said “My mother, because I owe her more.” I am so terribly hurt, Abby. What shall I do? Arlene. In response, Phillips wrote: Dear Arlene: Learn to swim.

Leave a Reply

